Deprecated: The $control_id argument is deprecated since version 3.5.0! in /home/customer/www/peervoices.org/public_html/wp-content/plugins/elementor/modules/dev-tools/deprecation.php on line 301
Black History Month Resources for Children's Mental Health -
Skip to content
Home » Programs & Events » Black History Month Resources for Children’s Mental Health

Black History Month Resources for Children’s Mental Health

As we reflect on the history of the Black community and celebrate its strength, resilience, and excellence, it’s time that we also shift our focus on the future.
Now more than ever, Black children and youth deserve the opportunity to thrive. This requires easily accessible and culturally responsive systems, programing and resources that foster Black healing and wellness. As mental health professionals, we must create services that directly affect the Black community to achieve equitable outcomes.
Below are a list of resources, upcoming events, book recommendations and other offerings that underscore our commitment to supporting the mental health and wellness of our Black children, youth, and families – our Black Future.
Black to the Future…
The Movement for Black Lives is using Black History Month as a time to celebrate our Black radical history and to imagine a world in which we are free and self-determined. Black Futures Month will uplift artists, creators, and organizers telling stories we have yet to hear — stories that will unlock our future.
• • • • •
Watch Video: Black Futures: An Ode to Freedom Summer
Black Girls Code creates opportunities for young women of color to learn about the current tech marketplace as builders and creators and introduce them to skills in computer programming and technology. Program areas include Artificial Intelligence (AI), Mobile and App Design, Virtual Reality, Blockchain, and more.
Black male youth demand a future where their genius is celebrated, realized, and shines rather than being hidden, suppressed or belittled. The Hidden Genius Project trains and mentors Black male youth in technology creation, entrepreneurship, and leadership skills to transform their lives and communities. HGP is currently accepting applications to their Intensive Immersion Program, a FREE, 15-month cohort-based training that will equip young Black males with coding skills, the ability to identify tech-enabled solutions for challenges in society, and more. Encourage youth to apply by 2/18!
PROFILE HIGHLIGHT:
James Manyika is making history as Google’s first head of Tech and Society. The role is a new one for Google that focused specifically on taking a large examination at how technology created at the company is impacting people’s daily lives.
=Upcoming Events
The National Museum of African American History and Culture presents:
Designed for children age 4 and up
Friday, February 4
11:00 a.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. CT / 9:00 a.m. MT / 8:00 a.m. PT / 5:00 a.m. HT
Kick off Black History Month with your little ones during this lesson on how the Black Panther Party contributed to the health and wellness of their communities. Then, paint a panther inspired by objects in the NMAAHC collection!
All Black History Month Joyful Fridays programs are held via Zoom webinar and led by NMAAHC Kids educators. ASL Interpretation will be provided.
• • • • •
The Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH®) presents:
Saturday, February 5
12:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. CT / 10:00 a.m. MT / 9:00 a.m. PT / 6:00 a.m. HT
This event will be a panel discussion on health care disparities in urban African American communities. The panel will explore ways in which race has shaped African American health throughout American history and how it paralleled, reinforced or contradicted the ways in which racialized conceptions of Blacks have shaped healthcare opportunities and/other discourses.
• • • • •
The National Child Traumatic Stress Network presents:
Facilitated by the Racial Justice and Trauma Subcommittee
Tuesday, February 8
11:00 a.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. CT / 9:00 a.m. MT / 8:00 a.m. PT / 5:00 a.m. HT
MANifest is a male “rites of passage” curriculum that guide young men towards their highest potential and power. It is being implemented in juvenile detention centers, schools and in private community settings. Join us as we engage in a discussion with the author, Dr. Obari Adeye Cartman about the importance of this program.
• • • • •
The Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH®) presents:
An Author’s Book Talk Event
Thursday, February 10
7:00 p.m. ET / 6:00 p.m. CT / 5:00 p.m. MT /4:00 p.m. PT / 1:00 p.m. HT
Listen in as author Tanya Leake, presents a new approach to wellness – a culturally, targeted, mind and body movement towards health empowerment. By blending Afro-cultural traditions with contemporary (holistic) wellness methods, GET A GGRiPP is more effective health and wellness approach targeted to the unique needs of the Black community.
• • • • •
The Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH®) presents:
An Author’s Book Talk Event
Thursday, February 10
7:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. CT / 5:30 p.m. MT /4:30 p.m. PT / 1:30 p.m. HT
Listen in as author LaTanya Michell Brooks shares the history and victories of many stunning women throughout human history, from freedom fighter Sojourner Truth, to relentless US vice-president Kamala Harris. With each woman, there’s a lesson to be taught and learned: Odds are real. Struggles are daunting. Difficulty respects no age, race or gender. But they can all be overcome.
• • • • •
The Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH®) presents:
An Author’s Book Talk Event
Tuesday, February 15
8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT / 6:00 p.m. MT /5:00 p.m. PT / 2:00 p.m. HT
Listen in as author Harriet A. Washington, MA outlines the historical roots of racial mistreatment in the U.S. medical research arena. She will discuss contemporary challenges to ethical research and health care, from the elision of informed consent to neo-eugenic policies, through the lens of the COVID-19 pandemic.
• • • • •
The Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH®) presents:
An Author’s Book Talk Event
Thursday, February 24
6:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. CT / 4:30 p.m. MT /3:30 p.m. PT / 12:30 p.m. HT
Listen in as author Kimberly A. Morrow shares real-life experiences and inspirational stories of hope, success in the classroom and perhaps most importantly, addresses issues that often affect students. 8 Pearls of Wisdom offers interwoven stories that will certainly inspire innovation, encourage, authentic learning and offer practical ways to empower students to pursue their passion.
• • • • •
The National Museum of African American History and Culture presents:
Designed for children age 4 and up
Friday, February 25
11:00 a.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. CT / 9:00 a.m. MT / 8:00 a.m. PT / 5:00 a.m. HT
Take a closer look at the art of African American artists Alma Thomas and McArthur Binion and learn about their unique creative styles! Then create your own drawing inspired by their art in the NMAAHC collection.
All Black History Month Joyful Fridays programs are held via Zoom webinar and led by NMAAHC Kids educators. ASL Interpretation will be provided.
Resources for Parents and Caregivers
» Book | Grace and Box by Kim Howard
This adorable book tells the story of a little girl and a refrigerator box who go on exciting adventures from outer space to exploring the depths of the sea. A universal friendship (child and box) has come alive in this imaginative and humorous picture book.
• • •
» Book | What If… by Samantha Berger
Creativity, the power of imagination, and the importance of self-expression are celebrated in this inspiring picture book.
• • •
» Activity Booklets | Joyful ABC Activity Booklets
Explore all our interactive Joyful ABC activity booklets and check back often for new editions to our lineup for you to download and share. Download these free activity booklets for early learners, ages 3 – 5, or for infants and toddlers.
• • •
Resources for Educators
For teachers, Black History Month is a great opportunity to teach with intention, honoring the tradition and showing students its importance, along with the importance of Black history and culture. Whether in-class or online, keep your students engaged with these 10 activity ideas for Black History Month.
• • •
This book provides resources and demonstrates how teachers can connect curriculum to young people’s lives and root their daily experiences in what is taught and how classrooms are set up. It also highlights the hope and beauty of student activism and collective action.
Resources for Community Leaders
» Community Org | Black Futures Lab
Black Futures Lab works with Black people to transform our communities, building Black political power and changing the way that power operates—locally, statewide, and nationally.
• • •
Early childhood development policies and practices entrenched in systemic racism contribute to the racial disparities that we see in outcomes ranging from education attainment, to health, to long-term employment opportunities. This policy agenda provides an actionable path forward to redress structural racism as the root cause of inequities in early childhood outcomes.
“It is easier to build strong children
than to repair broken men.”
Frederick Douglass
Abolitionist, Author and Educator
Request No-Cost Training or Technical Assistance from NTTAC
Contact Our Center
Toll-Free: (888)-945-9377  Email: NTTACinfo@cars-rp.org
Connect with Us on Social Media
This announcement is supported by SAMHSA of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as part of a financial assistance award totaling $15,000,000 over five years (2020-2025) with 100 percent funded by SAMHSA/HHS. The contents are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent the official views of, nor an endorsement, by SAMHSA/HHS, or the U.S. Government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.